New Residents to Lebanon
Welcome to Lebanon!The Lebanon City Clerk's office offers a variety of services to our residents, but our main services include Motor Vehicle Registrations, Elections, Vital Records, Dog Licensing, and the sale of Landfill Tickets. As a new resident, we know you have a lot to do with your move, so we want to help you plan an efficient trip to our office.
Forms of Payment
- Debit and Credit (Non-refundable processing fees will be collected at time of transaction. The fee is 2.79% with a minimum fee of $1.50. The processing fees are charged directly to our third party processor and are not retained by the City of Lebanon.)
- Monday through Thursday, 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.
- Marriage Licensing Hours: Monday through Thursday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
- We don't close for lunch, but we do close promptly at 5 p.m.
Proof of Residency
Motor Vehicle Registrations & Driver's LicensesNew residents have 60 days to obtain a New Hampshire driver's license and register their motor vehicles. Driver's licenses are obtained through the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The 2 closest DMV locations to Lebanon are:
- Newport DMV (20 North Main Street – 30 minutes away)
- Concord DMV (23 Hazen Drive - 60 minutes away.)
51 N Park Street
Lebanon, NH 03766
Motor Vehicle Registration FeesVehicle registrations are comprised of 2 different fees, a City portion and a State portion. In most instances, you can pay both portions of your registration fees with our office. However, some first-time registrations may involve a trip to a DMV location after your visit to our office.
Please visit our Motor Vehicle Registration page for more information regarding registering your vehicle. If you have any questions or concerns regarding the process, or to obtain an estimate (fees vary per vehicle), please feel free to contact our office at 603-448-3054 prior to your visit.
ElectionsNew Hampshire does not have a "Motor Voter" law, meaning you won't be registered to vote automatically by obtaining a car registration or driver's license. Voter Registration can be done at the City Clerk's office during regular business hours. While you are visiting our office to register your vehicle or license your dog, we encourage you to complete a voter registration form while you wait.
If you forget to register to vote at our office, don't worry, there are several other opportunities for voter registration. Supervisor of the Checklist Sessions are held outside of our business hours and may be more convenient for you, or you can wait until Election Day. The State of New Hampshire currently allows for residents to register to vote at their polling location on Election Day. These voters are permitted to vote that day as well.
When registering to vote, you can choose to declare a party affiliation, either Democrat, Republican or Libertarian. If you do not wish to affiliate with any of the three parties, you will be listed as Undeclared. During Primary Elections, voters who are registered as Democrat, Republican or Libertarian will only be able to select that party's ballot. Undeclared voters who wish to participate in a Primary, will declare a party affiliation at the polls and after casting their ballot can choose to revert back to Undeclared status. General Elections do not require you to affiliate with a party.
Dog LicensingDo you own a dog? Dog licensing is a requirement under New Hampshire Law 466:1. To license your dog, please bring a current rabies vaccination and spay or neuter certificate, if applicable. Puppies (dogs under 7 months old) and dogs which are Spayed or Neutered are $7.50. Dogs which are older than 7 months and not fixed are $10. Senior Citizens (65 or over by May 1) may license one dog for $3.
Be sure to ask us about our Top Dog contest, if you visit our office in the months of March or April!
Vital RecordsAre you getting married? Couples wishing to get married in the State of New Hampshire must first obtain a marriage license at a City or Town Clerk's office. Our office issues marriage licenses between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 3 p.m. The cost is $50 and the license is valid for 90 days. While we do not perform ceremonies here at City Hall, we do have a list of local Justices of the Peace (JP) available for your convenience (should you wish to have a JP perform your ceremony.)
Our office also issues certified copies of birth, marriage and death certificates. Certified copies are $15 for one copy and $10 for additional copies of the same record.